• ” …. makes this a very special place… “

    Fabulous house and location, the attention to detail makes this a very special place with all needs catered for. We loved it!

     
    Lorraine & friends, Liverpool, Wolverhamptom & Nottingham — 17th November 2017
  • “Has been an excellent base for experiencing York. “

    Has been an excellent base for experiencing York. Thank you for sharing this beautiful list building & family home with our group.

     
    Ladies wot lunch, Fife, Scotland — 27th September 2017
  • “Superb stay.”

    Superb stay. Thank you.

     
    G. Deane, UK — 24th September 2017
  • ” Incredibly impressive house …. “

    Incredibly impressive house, the attention to detail is superb and much appreciated. The location is perfect for the full ‘York experience’. Thank you for letting us stay.

     
    Tim O'Grady, Lincolnshire, UK
  • “Lovely house, brilliant location. “

    Lovely house, brilliant location. We all had a fabulous time.

     
    The Clarke Family, — September 2017
  • ” ….. what a wonderful location and beautiful period home. “

    Only a very quick stop for us in York, but what a wonderful location and beautiful period home. Thank you.

     
    The Porter Family, Suffolk — 31st August 2017
  • “Eight of us stayed here very comfortably.”

    An incredible location. It has been a wonderful base for our family wedding. Eight of us stayed here very comfortably. We all love the character of this old house and your decor would highly recommend.

     
    Clare Cook and family, Kent, UK — 25th August
  • “A fabulous place to stay when you are part of a visiting choir in York Minster. “

    A fabulous place to stay when you are part of a visiting choir in York Minster. Berber and I had a great singing week here. Huib, Rob, Tom, Marius and Leonard had a great time too visiting the sites of York and preparing great lunches (and other things for us). Penny (Leonard’s dog) loved the plase also.

    Thanks!

     
    Arjzh Vader, Amsterdam, Netherlands — 19th August 2017
  • “No. 2 Precentor’s Court was the perfect place to stay to celebrated my 30th birthday with my family.”

    No. 2 Precentor’s Court was the perfect place to stay to celebrated my 30th birthday with my family. We enjoyed having The Minster on our doorstep and hearing the peal of bells throughout the day. Having also studied in York, it was lovely to return and stay in your lovely home. Thank you.

     
    Laura Grace & family, Lancashire & Yorkshire, UK — 4th August 2017
  • “Perfect place to be in the middle of everything.”

    We had a fantastic time here in your lovely home! Only here for a few days but wish we had longer. We managed to ‘do’ the important attractions and see some family we have not seen for over 30 years! Perfect place to be in the middle of everything.

     
    Carolyn, Steve, Olly, Jane and Rhys (also Poppy and Holly, the dogs), Portishead, UK — 3rd August 2017
  • “Every little aspect and touch in the home is far more charming than we could have ever imagined.”

    Every little aspect and touch in the home is far more charming than we could have ever imagined. We loved the little town! And our friend’s wedding in nearby Bolton Percy was great – so check it out! thank you for letting us stay in your lovely home.

     
    Rocco Karrie, Addam, Kathy, Don, Kristine, Kelsey and Donnie, Baltimore, USA — 31st July 2017
  • “Well you certainly allowed me to step back in time in your adorable home.”

    Well you certainly allowed me to step back in time in your adorable home. I would love to pick this house up and replace it with mine. Thank you and all the kind people of York for the best stay.

     
    Kyin Oetlz, California, USA — 23rd July 2017
  • “We have indeed enjoyed this beautiful building/home …… “

    We have indeed enjoyed this beautiful building/home and are very grateful for the stay. Dutch, Norwegian and English folk stayed here.

    What a fantastic place!!  You thought of everything.

     
    Gees, Hedy, Ida and friends, — 17th July 2017
  • ” ….. sitting on the doorstep, sipping mugs of Yorkshire Tea and watching the comings and goings at The Minster.”

    Thank you so much for our fabulous tiem int this gorgeous place. A favourite moment one day, was sitting on the doorstep, sipping mugs of Yorkshire Tea and watching the comings and goings at The Minster. We have loved our time here in this enchanting location.

    (Here when the Lions drew with the All Blacks!)

     
    Earl, Susan, Olivia and Harry Simpson, Greenhithe, New Zealand — 11th July 2017
  • “We would love to return at some time in the future, to soak up the atmosphere in your house and the beautiful City of York.”

    Fantastic house in a wonderful location. Thank you so much for all the extras. When we arrived we did not have to rush to the shops to buy tea, coffee, milk etc. – wonderful touch! We would love to return at some time  in the future,  to soak up the atmosphere in your house and the beautiful City of York. Thanks again.

     
    Michael, Wendy and Mel, Dundee, Scotland — 5th July 2017
  • ” The location is unbelievable …… “

    Thank you for an outstanding vacation in your beautiful home! The location is unbelievable and we loved walking through York. We loved everything about your house and thank you for your hospitality.

     
    Karen, Matt & Barbara, Seattle, Washington USA — 18th June 2017
  • ” ….. found the location so well connected and loved stepping out to York Minster every morning!”

    Thank you for having us at your beautiful home – we had a lovely stay, found the location so well connected and loved stepping out to York Minster every morning!

    We will most certainly be returning!

     
    Ushma and Zach, London — 14th June 2017
  • “All mums looking for a bit of luxury! “

    Fabulous house in a beautiful location, perfect place for our weekend together. All mums looking for a bit of luxury! Well rested and looking forward to coming back again soon. Thank you.

     
    Kathy, Kate, Kirsty, Claire, Lyndsey and Steph, Lincoln, Lincolnshire — 11th June 2017
  • ” If I ever set up a B&B, it would be this one that would set the bar.”

    A home away from home! Than you Jane for creating such a comfortable nest for our family stay in York. Your attention to detail is above and beyond with everyone’s needs catered for. If I ever set up a B&B it would be this one that set the bar. A beautiful city indeed! Cheers.

     
    Steve, Rebecca, Nic, Will and Anna, Barossa Valley, Sth. Australia — 10th May 2017
  • “Beautifully thought out, perfect location (55 paces from front door to the Minster’s West Door). “

    A wonderful base for our week’s singing in York Minster. Beautifully thought out, perfect location (55 paces from front door to the Minster’s West Door). Even St. George’s Day Parade to watch on our last afternoon!

     
    Andy Cope, UK — 23rd April 2017
  • ” Danke!!”

    Dear Stephen, Dear Jane, we had a wonderful time in your beautiful house. Thank you very much for everything! Danke!! God bless you and your family.

     
    Susi, Martin, Peter, Hannah and Theo Kunschert, Germany — 17th April 2017
  • “Spacious, comfortable and characterful house in a wonderful location. “

    Spacious, comfortable and characterful house in a wonderful location. Discussing the quirky nature of the house, we thought how interesting it would be to learn more about its history – perhaps an addition to your comprehensive welcome pack?

     
    The Kays and Bakers, UK — 7th April 2017
  • ” …. a memorable 3 days in this beautiful house.”

    Thank you very much – this has been a memorable 3 days in this beautiful house.

     
    Neville and Terry families, UK — 2nd April 2017
  • “We can’t get over the view. “

    Many thanks for a wonderful stay in this fabulous house! We can’t get over the view. A great way to spend Ana’s birthday.

     
    Lizzie, Celia, Laurin, Oli, Sam R, Sam C and Ana, UK — 26th March 2017
  • “We had a lovely 3 nights in this superb house. “

    We had a lovely 3 nights in this superb house. Fab location. We hope to return.

     
    Karen and Peter Morgan & friends, Cambridge — 7th March 2017
  • “We loved it all !!’

    Many thank for a fabulous stay in this wonderful place. We loved it all !!

     
    Sue, Trish, Di and Chris, UK — February 2017
  • “A lovely and very comfortable home in a such a perfect location. “

    Many thanks for your hospitality. A lovely and very comfortable home in a such a perfect location. We very much hope to come back!

     
    The Bremners, Sutton Courtenay, Oxfordshire — 26th February 2017
  • “… wonderful hospitality in a very beautiful and historic house.”

    Thank you for wonderful hospitality in a very beautiful and historic house. The gift of cake and biscuits was much appreciated. We hope you will enjoy the Scottish tablet.

     
    The Cox Party, UK — 19th February 2017
  • “…… a very restful weekend.”

    The whole family have enjoyed a very restful weekend. Many thanks for the hospitality.

     
    Ben, Ruth, Mia, Hannah, Penny and Julian, Greenwich, London — 13th February 2017
  • “Your house and its contents are of an exceptionally high standard.”

    Thank you for providing the perfect backdrop to our Christmas celebration. Your house and its contents are of an exceptionally high standard. The location was ideal and allowed our ‘three generations’ of family to split up and explore York without fear of getting lost! Many thanks.

    P.S. Thank you for decorating the house – very festive and for providing such thoughtful gifts.

     
    The Gash Family, UK — 28th December 2016
  • ” One of the highlights was that stunning view of The Minster every time you step out of the door.”

    A wonderful weekend celebrating Chris and Richard’s Golden Wedding Anniversary – with children and grandchildren. Lovely to be back in York where Chris and Richard met as students all those years ago! Delicious anniversary breakfast at Little Betty’s.

    Enjoyed atmospheric Evensong at The Minster and discovering York through the Cat Trail. One of the highlights was that stunning view of The Minster every time you step out of the door. Thanks for a lovely weekend in a very special house

     
    Proctor & McKeown families, UK — 16-18 December 2016
  • “A magnificent venue for our stunning bride.”

    Just needed to express our appreciation for the opportunity of staying in you lovely home on the occasion of our daughter’s wedding. Everything just perfect and a lovely time was had by us all. A magnificent venue for our stunning bride.

     
    The Roberts Family, UK — 4th December 2016
  • “…. an extra night still didn’t feel enough!”

    Jane, once again thank you so much for making us so very welcome, it is such a convenient and comfortable place to stay, an extra night still didn’t feel enough! Sure we will be back next year, we had a lovely time, thank you again. Very grateful.

     
    The Famous Five, Macclesfield, Cheshire — 30th November 2016
  • “Perfect for catch up with friends. See you next year!”

    We’ve had such a lovely weekend in a wonderful quirky house, in a perfect location. We had everything we needed and more supplied. Perfect for catch up with friends. See you next year!

     
    The Northumbria Uni Girls, UK — 20th November 2016
  • “We all look forward to coming again”

    A very special weekend. Two nights in York staying here in Precentor’s Court with everything supplied that you could want. So central for everything and a car parking space too. Can highly recommend Meltons for lovely food. We all look forward to coming again.

     
    Judith and Paul Brooks, Anne and Peter Reid, Gillian Lindsay, Edinburgh, Port O'Warren and Carlisle, UK — 6th November 2016
  • “We’ve had a fabulous stay at Precentor’s Court”

    We’ve had a fabulous stay at Precentor’s Court. A perfect house in an amazing location. It’s been such a special visit celebrating four generation coming together. We couldn’t have asked for anything more.

    From the oldest person in the party, we all loved the house and we all love York (we’ll be back). Thank you, S. V. Childs

     
    The Childs Family, Hitchin, UK — 13th November 2016
  • “….. the perfect base to explore the best city in England for history. York never disappoints”

    We feel extremely privileged to have stayed in such a wonderful heritage building. A real treat for us – reminiscent of Landmark Trust properties. Precentor’s Court  is so beautifully appointed. And we very much appreciated the welcome treats. The fact that it is so centrally located mad it the perfect base to explore the best city in England for history. York never disappoints. Thank you so much.

     
    Martin, Peter, Denise, Barbara, Mary-Ann, Lois, Mina and Starbuck (the Cockerpoo), Stoke on Trent, UK — 28th October 2016
  • “Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Here’s to next year!!”

    Another brilliant stay in this fantastic house with family, inc. the Dowager Duchess from Carlisle. Very comfortable and spacious for us all, just not long enough to be here. Fantastic meals out – must try Skosh!! Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Here’s to next year!!

     
    Dixons and Cloughs, Cumbria, UK — 30th October 2016
  • “Fabulous house in a fabulous location! 5 star indeed”

    Fabulous house in a fabulous location! 5 star indeed. We all loved York; miles walked and great meals eaten.

     
    The Douds Family, Kinross-shire, UK — 21st October 2016
  • “We have thoroughly enjoyed every minute of stay and truly did not want to leave”

    What an amazing house and location. We have thoroughly enjoyed every minute of stay and truly did not want to leave. We’ve spent much family time around the kitchen table, play games and enjoying much needed time together. Thank you for letting us stay, we will be back for sure.

     
    Yvonne, Andrew, Angela, Chris, Helen, Edward, Tracy and Phil, Nottinghamshire, UK — 14th October 2016
  • “Really liked the period features and tasteful decor with flair”

    We had a great time stay here. Really liked the period features and tasteful decor with flair.

     
    The Womacks & cousins, Stamford, UK — 4th October 2016
  • “Jane and Stephen have created a little haven with this house….”

    What a beautiful place to stay – so stylish and close to the city centre. Jane and Stephen have created a little haven with this house and I would love to return. The Mulberry Outlet did very well from our group – dangerous territory!

     
    Madalyn, Angela, Fiona, Sue, Linda, Claire, Ronnie and Selina, London UK — 9th October 2016
  • “The feel of the history of the home is warm and comfortable”

    Perfect location. The feel of the history of the home is warm and comfortable. We did a lot of sitting, chatting and planning our days at the big kitchen table. Thank you for sharing this beautiful home with us. We like that fact that we could walk and walk, see a lot and still be within a nice distance from the house.

     
    Diane, UK
  • “Lots of lovely places to eat and drink, people very friendly”

    Fabulous house!! The location is so central to everything. Lots of lovely places to eat and drink, people very friendly. Spent four days here with my husband Dave, sister Lorna, Sandra and her husband who were on holiday from Australia. Would highly recommend this hous and would come back again.

     
    Karen Fairweather, Aberdeenshire, UK — 22nd September 2016
  • “Enjoyed a tour with ‘Mad Alice’ ….”

    Had a fantastic stay. We have loved the house, perfect location – love the bells. and what a perfect way to end our stay, a parade with our Army Medics. Enjoyed a tour with ‘Mad Alice’ too. Thank you

     
    Vanessa, Sue, Julie, Cheryl, Carol and Jan, UK — 18th September 2016
  • “We went to Evensong every night……”

    We loved staying here! Everything about the house fitted our group of six perfectly! When we read about the wet room, we were sceptical, but we loved using it best of all! It was great being steps away from the Minster – we went to Evensong every night! What a calming and beautiful experience. Other than the Minster, highlights of our time here:  steam train to Goathland and Whitby, hiking in the moors near Goathland, fish and chips at the Magpie in Whitby, strolling around the old streets, restaurants, Lamb and Lion pub, lunch at Gray’s Court, tea at Little Betty’s, scotch tasting at the Whisty Shop, the Castle Museum.

    We loved having breakfast in our PJ’s every morning and having an afternoon resting place. Being able to do our laundry was a great bonus!

     
    Sandy, Karen, Frances, Kelly, Kerry and Deb, UK — 27th August 2016
  • ” Great property…..”

    Great property – good time – many thanks. (replaced two light bulbs!)

     
    The Stone family, UK — 20th August 2016
  • “We have had a fantastic weekend in York…….”

    We have had a fantastic weekend in York – the event was my sister’s wedding and we stayed here with the father, mother of the bride, the priest, and the brother of the bride. It has been perfect. Great location, particularly for St. Wilfrid’s and the Hospitium and the size of the house was just right made nicer by the standard of cleanliness, and the touches such as good communication, simple instructions and Betty’s cakes!

     
    Rosalyn, Dominic, Lucie, Joseph, Tom, Poppy and Fr. Paul, London, UK — 15th August 2016
  • “Thank you so much for letting us stay in this amazing house”

    We celebrated two very happy birthdays her. What a lovely house to stay in when visiting York. We will be back for sure!! Thank you for the prosecco and Betty’s goodies – what a lovely touch! The house was very clean and comfy. Great location. We ate at Ask Italian – all 7 of us had an enjoyable meal. It’s worth just looking inside to the the building. We had a great breakfast at Lucky Days next to M&S. Something for everyone – recommend the american pancakes!! Yum. If you are looking for a hot drink & light lunch – The Newgate Coffee Bar nex to the market is wonderful – I recommend the hazelnut hot chocolate – best ever! Thank you so much for letting us stay in this amazing house.

     
    Bill, Margaret, Mike, Kelly, Neil, Gemma and Harry, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK — 11th August 2016
  • “Location could not have been better”

    What a beautiful, comfortable, house to stay in. Very clean, and every comfort and requirement thought of. Location could not have been better. We spent 5 days here for my son’s wedding – the house being a 5 minute walk in one direction to the registry office and a 5 minute walk in the other direction to the Reception. We have visited York many times before as our son has spent the last 4 years here at the university, so knew the good places to eat etc.. Beds so comfortable – the only suggestion for consideration is a large better lit mirror in the bathroom for shaving (from the male members of our family). Thank you for the prosecco, and goodies from Betty’s – lovely!! Would love to stay again.

     
    The Minaeian Family, UK — 8th August 2016
  • “It was really cool and the facilities were perfect”

    We had a really fun time, and the house was beautiful! It was really cool and the facilities were perfect. We liked our rooms and enjoyed staying next to York Minster. We would loved to have stayed longer and seen more of York.

     
    Dana, Arman, Mahtab and Faraman, UK
  • “We had a lovely time and hope to come again”

    A beautiful house and the neighbouring buildings aren’t too shabby either! We had a lovely time and hope to come again! Excellent Betty’s cakes and biscuits also!

     
    The Shaw Family, UK — 3rd August 2016
  • “Exploring the house proved very enjoyable……”

    Amazing place to stay at, very clean and well suited to our needs. Exploring the house proved very enjoyable as discovering the basement and outside too. Wonderful location. We especially loved how close it was to the Minster. However, not as enjoyed at 8.00 am in the morning (because of the bells – SJC) but a small price to pay for such an incredible view.

     
    Sadie, Alison, Tobey, Molly, Maisy, Laura, Amelia, Collette, Courtney, Baby and Chelsea, Derbyshire, UK — 31st July 2016
  • “Best Airbnb experience we have had”

    Excellent stay at your lovely house. Best Airbnb experience we have had. The furnishings and cleanliness of the house were lovely! Also thank you for providing a travel cot for our 2 year old. He loved the house as well! On to Cambridge.

     
    Bonnie, Joe and Rex Stanfield, Chicago, USA — 29th July 2016
  • “Outstanding – above and beyond”

    Outstanding – above and beyond. Thank you. So central. Just perfect.

     
    Don, Cherie, Kaia, Lulu, Sam, Elle and Shona Brethouwer, Netherlands — 20th July 2016
  • ” ….. and everything was very well thought out……”

    Thank you for letting us stay for two days at this house. The beds were very comfortable and everything was well though out and everything is clean and organised. The location is very good to get to and from everything in the city. We had a lovely stay.

     
    Lauren Brindle (aged 11), — 13th July 2016
  • “……wonderful reunion of old friends”

    We have loved staying in this beautiful house for a wonderful reunion of old friends.

     
    Drew, Hogan, Findlay, Lumley, Heather and Webster, UK — 12th June 2016
  • “What a view from the door”

    Thank you for a fabulous stay. The house is wonderful and was perfect for our family. We had a reunion in York from Australia, America and Wales. Lovely! What a view from the door.

     
    The Kosulics and Townends, UK — 8th July 2016
  • “Beautiful house and such thoughtful owners…….”

    Beautiful house and such thoughtful owners which made our stay with 2 small grandchildren, perfect. Absolutely wonderful weekend.

     
    The Newdicks, London, UK — 23rd May 2016
  • “Fabulous house. Perfect for our needs…..”

    Fabulous house. Perfect for our needs – central yet quiet – perfect for exploring York. Weather was great which was a bonus! Thank you for the goodies on arrival too!

     
    The Millars, UK — 11th April 2016
  • “We had a wonderful time here……”

    We had a wonderful time here and your property was magnificent, it helped make our weekend away more memorable.

     
    The Furnish family, UK — 28th March 2016
  • “We had a wonderful stay”

    We were all here for a wedding and we had a wonderful stay.

     
    The Eassons and McArthurs, UK — 2nd May 2016
  • ” A “Fantastic” Weekend….”

    “Fantastic” being the word our dad kept repeating when we surprised him with a weekend away in this amazing setting for his 60th birthday. Thank you for allowing us to stay – the house surpassed expectations both inside and out, in a brilliant location. Thank you also for the welcome pack of cake and Prosecco which helped kick the weekend off in style. We are already planning our next trip!

     
    Rob, Jane, Richard, Kate, James, Aimee and Eddie, UK — 7th March 2016
  • “Lovely character house, very convenient…..”

    Lovely character house, very convenient for the city centre. We loved the way the original features had been retained – larder, cupboards etc.. It was the perfect venue for a joint 60/70th Birthday weekend which was enhanced by the surprise engagement of our nephew! Thanks very much”.

     
    The Rayners, UK — 29th February 2016
  • “… wonderful stay celebrating our Dad’s 80th Birthday…”

    We have had a wonderful stay celebtrating our Dad’s 80th birthday. The house was everything we hoped it would be, comfortable, stylishly decorated with a real cosy family feel. It was a real treat that we hope to repeat one day. Thank you.”

     
    The Casbards, UK — 7th February 2016
  • “Amazing house and amazing setting.”

    Amazing house and amazing setting. Everything was presented perfectly and small details like champagne [sic] and stollen were appreciated. The location could not be improved – we had a wonderful stay.

     
    York Alumni 2006-2009, UK — 2nd January 2016
  • ” A truly fabulous house.”

    A truly fabulous house. The setting could not have been better. This has been the perfect getaway after Christmas for my family. It has allowed us to explore the City independently and then come to together to enjoy time together as well.

    The donging of the time made me laugh at 8 am (3 teenage dossers!) but better that then the water pistols I had with me.

    The house was well equipped with personal touches (cake on arrival was delicious). Thank you for our stay. We will definitely recommend the house to our friends and family.

     
    Justine Nimmins, Durham, UK — 30th December 2015
  • ” ……. we love it here and can’t wait to come back!”

    An amazing house with stunning views, the perfect place for Christmas! The house is so central that you can explore the city of York with ease! Thank you so much, we love it here and can’t wait to come back!

     
    Joe (aged 10) and family, UK — Christmas 2015
  • “… a city none of us knew that well but all fell in love with!”

    Dear Jane, what a wonderful house this is! We had such a lovely time being able to so easily explore York, during our friend’s wedding – a city none of us knew that well but all fell in love with!

    The house is so beautiful, both inside and out and really enhanced a fabulous few days getaway.

    We hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

     
    Andrew and Team, London — 20th December 2015
  • “We came here for my best friend’s wedding and OH MY! This place is simply incredible!”

    We came here for my best friend’s wedding and OH MY! This place is simply incredible! We were (almost) lost for words at how perfect it was for her and us. Especially being less than a minute’s walk from St. Mikes in the wintry weather. We’d all like to stay here forever if you’re looking for more permanent residents!

    (Also as a housekeeper myself, thank you and well done, as this place is absolutely spotless and so beautifully kept. The beds are glorious)

    Sad to leave! All the very best.

     
    Family Partridge & Co., UK — 13th December 2015
  • “Fantastic family holiday for mum’s 60th birthday.”

    Fantastic family holiday for mum’s 60th birthday. A beautiful house in a beautiful location.

    Thank you!

     
    Paula, Mike and gang, UK — 6th December 2015
  • ‘Wow, what a super house……….it really is an ideal home”

    Wow, what a super house to have a family 30th birthday gathering in and explore a city none of us had previously visited.

    It provided an oasis of calm to return to from the bustling streets and the entry keypad meant there was no fussing about with keys – anyone could come back for a welcome cup of Yorkshire tea when weary.

    The decor, furniture and fittings are spot on, and the beds so comfy – it really is an ‘ideal home’.  (Just a suggestion though – a coffee table in the sittling room would be handy).

    Thank you so much for providing the house for a very memorable holiday (and welcome gifts).

     
    The Vass Family, UK — 3rd December 2015
  • “Quite magical being next to York Minster and hearing the bells”

    Fantastic location and beautiful home for our Christmas gathering in York. Quite magical being next to York Minster and hearing the bells – we all feel very festive now.

    The house was so inviting, warm and comfortable – a lot of laughs and happy memories to take with us. We will definitely recommend! Many thanks.

     
    The White Family, UK — 29th November 2015
  • “Stunning house in fabulous location for our annual Christmas shopping trip”

    Stunning house in fabulous location for our annual Christmas shopping trip to York., we usually spend in a hotel.

    Really added to our trip this time to have luxurious and well equipped surroundings to relax in. We hope to be back next year. Thank you.

    P.S. Good birthday meal at the Star Inn the City

    P.P.S We also used ‘Justpark’ website for an extra car (approx. £15 for 3 days)

     
    Famous Five, Cheshire, UK — 27th November 2015
  • “We tried our best to do as many pubs as was physically possible but failed”

    Four couples from South Wales enjoyed a lovely freezing weekend in your home.

    We tried our best to do as many pubs as was physically possible but failed.

    The location and accommodation was perfect. We will definitely recommend this!

     
    Bounds, James, Cleaves and Witcomb Families, South Wales, UK — 27th November 2015
  • “Nick’s Graduation”

    We arrived from Southhampton at this most beautiful house – full of character and all attention to detail fulfilled – we fell in love with it!

    Superb location for the graduation ceremony at the Minster – what a wonderful experience!

    Thank you for such a wonderful stay – we will come again when York is our destination – and recommend to all!

     
    The Wiseman Family, Southampton, UK — 19th November 2015
  • Such beautiful bells to wake up to (even with a slight hang-over).

    A great place to stay to celebrate the Palmer-Badger wedding! Such beautiful bells to wake up to (even with a slight hang-over). Thanks!

     
    The SLC, UK — Halloween 2015
  • ….. tried in vain to locate a cobweb without success!

    Great stay and fantastic property. Very impressed with the cleanliness. My hubby tried in vain to locate a cobweb without success! We will be back.

     
    The Clough Family, UK — 29th October 2015
  • We have not wished for a single thing……

    We are feeling sad to leave our beautiful house in York. It feels like home! Rowan (5) and Sally (2) have loved their attic bedroom and listening to the bells at 8.00am. We have explored so much – highlights were the Chocolate Story and Castle Museum and Castle Howard. Thank you for a fabulous stay – we have not wished for a single thing and have slept so well in the super comfy beds. Thank you, Laurie*

    *Laurie is the husband! (see below)

     
    Laurie, Rowan and Sally , Fife, Scotland — 16th October 2015
  • …… and has behaved really well during his stay.

    A fabulous house. Beautifully done. Well equipped and spotlessly clean. We have had a wonderful time and fitted a lot in to our stay. The ‘Knowledge’ was a great help, and we had amazing weather. Thank you and special thanks for allowing Brodie* to come! He loved the biscuits you left for him and really has behaved during his stay. Sally and Rowan have nested in their room at the top of the house, and the Minster Bells have been the highlight of their say. Thank you again for a wonderful visit.

     

    *To avoid any confusion, Brodie is a dog not the husband – Boxing Hare

     
    Bev and Brodie, Fife, Scotland, UK — 16th October 2015
  • The location could not be better……

    Thank you for such a wonderful stay. The house is amazing, well equipped, beautifully decorated. The location could not have been better, easy access for all of York, especially the Minster. We had a great time and look forward to a return visit.

     
    The Avanessian Family, London — 24th September 2015
  • Our hopes have been more than fully realised…

    When I booked this, I thought it would be ideal as a base for our plan to show our NZ children and grandchildren, our Yorkshire heritage. Our hopes have been more than fully realised. This is a lovely place to walk the city and to return to when tired.

     
    The Cass Family, New Zealand — 19th September 2015
  • This place is a hidden gem.

    This place is a hidden gem. We had a really lovely stay, the house is fantastic. Perfect location and York is such a beautiful place. Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to stay and enjoy our couple of days.

     
    The Finlay Family, Belfast and Sydney — 10th September 2015
  • It is my ideal home……

    What a beautiful house! We have had such a wonderful few days staying in your wonderful house. From the minute you walk up the steps, the attention to detail is endless. I love all the little touches that are visible in every single room. From the leaflet/info closet to all the little curtains in the attic bedrooms. The jar of love hearts, and the heart badge pictures, the stylish bathrooms to the period dressing tables. It is my ideal home and on top of that it’s literally on the doorstep of the Minster (even though you have to drag yourself out of the house because it is so lovely). It is situated in the most perfect spot for sight-seeing and mooching around the shops. And what a lovely surprise to find Betty’s cake and biscuits sitting on a cake-stand in the kitchen when we arrived – thank you they were delicious. All in all a very special treat for my mum’s 70th birthday celebrations. Thank you. Really hoping to visit again soon.

     
    Sarah, UK — 26th August 2015
  • We had a wonderful time …..

    We had a wonderful time here. It is a beautiful house. Thank you so much for the extra lovely touches.

     
    Ruth and friends, UK
  • Made my birthday special….

    Thank you for a lovely couple of days. Your house is amazing and made my birthday special.

     
    Hilary Morris, UK — 26th August 2015
  • Waxing lyrical….

    Jane and Izzy crossed the county,

    From the green, green grass of home,

    Excited to be meeting those we saw so long ago,

    Good Friends we came together,

    We’ve known each other for some time,

    Megan, Sean and Nanoi,

    Travelled down the railway line,

    With bags and happy faces,

    Enjoying the cool sunshine and historical great places.

    We visited the Minster and heard the choir sing,

    Also trooped to Yorvik to meet the old Viking!

    Restaurants aplenty with lots of yummy food,

    Jamie’s, Wilde’s and Lucia’s

    Put us all in jolly moods.

    Favourite shops to browse in and many things to choose,

    Treats so irresistible, now many pounds to lose!

    But underneath the Minster,

    Tucked in tight beside the wall,

    Was the house that we were staying in,

    The bestest treat of all.

    The beds were oh so comfy,

    The sleepers did so snore,

    The kitchen is so homely,

    And we’d like to stay some more!

    The house has just been perfect,

    A special holiday to make,

    Thank you for the shortbread, wine and Betty’s lovely cake!

    The packing is as done now,

    And the dishes put away,

    Farewell for now my dear Friends,

    Until another day.

     
    Jane, Isabelle, Megan, Nanoi and Sean, UK — 7th August 2015
  • “Fantastic house with lots of character and very well loved.”

    Thank you for such a lovely stay. Fantastic house with lots of character and very well loved. The cookies and prosecco were a lovely touch. The location is perfect and we truly enjoyed our stay.

     
    Jen, Alex, Charlotte, Mike, Estelle and Sam, Manchester, UK — 6th September 2015
  • ” Truly fabulous – as close to perfect as is possible … “

    Truly fabulous – as close to perfect as is possible – wonderful house, location and so much care and attention paid to the guests having an easy and lovely time.

     
    The Jenkins Family, California, USA — 2nd September 2015
  • “We have thoroughly enjoyed our short break in York.”

    Thoughtful welcome treats – thank you. Lovely house in a perfect location. We have thoroughly enjoyed our short break in York. Thank you.

     
    The Deelys, — !2th August 2015
  • “… well equipped house giving us a five star weekend.”

    Great house for a family get-together. Suberb location – well equipped house giving us a 5 star weekend – thanks.

     
    The Stephensons and Spalls families, Grimsby, Lincolnshire, UK — 3rd August 2015
  • “We will miss be awakened by the grand bell of York Cathedral.”

    Wonderful location, perfect amenities, just right for our family of five plus grandparents. We will miss be awakened by the grand bell of York Cathedral. The welcome gift was lovely. Thank you.

     
    The Catalano & Wells families, Colorado, USA — 29th July 2015
  • “…. exactly what we required for our friend’s wedding.”

    Perfect location, beautiful house, exactly what we required for our stay for our friend’s wedding. Thank you for the lovely welcome gift.

     
    The Smith Family, UK — 26th July 2015
  • “Could not have wished for more.”

    Family reunion, some from United States and some from Norway. Wonderful accomodations …. thanks for a tremendous townhouse hire at No. 2 Precentors Ct. We love sharing our time here in york in this wonderful location.

    Best vacation …. enjoyed, so much, the beauty of everything! The townhouse is in a fab. location. Could not have wished for more. Thanks for this most fond memory.

     
    M. Edmo, Florida, USA — 16th July 2015
  • “….wonderful home in this fabulous city.”

    We have loved staying in this wonderful home in this fabulous city.

     
    The Fitts's, Abbotsford, Australia — 20th July 2015
  • “Lovely house, everything we needed.”

    Lovely house, everything we needed. Beautiful location. Thank you.

     
    Mark, Jayne, Rob, Pauline, James and Caroline, Grimsby, Lincolnshire, UK — 28th June 2015
  • ” – and how amazing it is!”

    We have just spent a wonderful two nights in your home – and how amazing it is! Absolutely perfect location, amazing home and lovely little touches of cakes and champagne from Jane and Steve. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again and will recommend it to anyone travelling to York. Thank you!

     
    The Wright Family, Orange, NSW, Australia — 26th June 2015
  • “The house is a successful combination of beauty and practicality.”

    Thank you for the Yorkshire tea, Yorkshire cake – a great welcome. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and exploring York. The house is a successful combination of beauty and practicality, we thought. It was wonderful to see the Minster with the light playing on it at different times of the day and to hear Evensong. Grand Yorkshire Tours arranged a good trip to Castle Howard, we would recommend them.

     
    Paul, Jacquie Thompson, Judy de Saram, George, Charles and Isabel, — 27th April 2015
  • “A fantastic location for our 15 year university reunion.”

    A fantastic location for our 15  year university reunion. The cottage is beautiful and we really appreciated all the little touches and mod cons! Thanks very much for the bottle of Prosecco too, which got our weekend off to a good start! It was amazing being to close to the Minster and we enjoyed Evensong on Saturday evening, and the bells on Sunday morning!! We all studied together in Salamanca, a beautiful student city in western Spain. York really reminded us of that place this weekend and lots of great times and memories. Thanks again

     
    Tom, Pete, Katy, Davina and Sally,
  • “This place was a great find……”

    Thank you Jane and Stephen for the wonderful stay. This place was a great find and will definitely recommend you to anyone who wants to visit York.  Great job, love your attention to details. All the best.

     
    Viola, Ben, Emilia and Maya Kupper,
  • “… loved hearing the Minster bells and being in its shadow.”

    We had a wonderful stay in your amazing house … loved hearing the Minster bells and being in its shadow. Here as a small study tour with students and hope to return with family. York is a gem!

     
    Steve Collier, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania — June 2015
  • “Ideal location for our wedding at the Minster.”

    A wonderful house – just perfect. Ideal location for our wedding at the Minster. Fabulous stay – thank you.

     
    Mark, Jane, Lulu, Emmy, Toby, Soph, Ant and 10 day old Freddie, — 31st May 2015
  • “Something for everyone ages 3 to 69…..”

    A stunning house in a fantastic locations. We all thoroughly enjoyed staying here whilst enjoying all that York has to offer. Something for everyone ages 3 to 69. Lunch at Cote was particularly enjoyable, so good in fact, we went twice! Thanks for such a memorable weekend in such amazing accommodation.

     
    Dave, Elaine, Emma, Stephen, Gerrard, Carol, Sam and Bethan, — 25th May 2015
  • “What a great place this is!”

    Here from the States visiting with our family- Ben, Viola, Emilia and new grand-daughter Maya. Traveling with son Alex and his wife Amy. Beautiful sunny day and we are loving it. What a great place this is!

     
    Larry and Peggy Kupper, Missoula, Montana, USA — 21st April 2015
  • “A magical house in a magical spot.”

    A magical house in a magical spot. Every detail was taken care of. A real find. Thanks so much.

     
    Kathryn, Alison, Daksha and the boys, — 15th April, 2015
  • “The quality and tasteful furnishing is of a high standard.”

    Excellent location and a wonderful house. The quality and tasteful furnishing is of a high standard. The best restaurant was Kennedy’s in our opinion. We will be back one day.

     
    Alan, Margaret, Kirsty, Jack and Ben, — 3rd April 2015
  • “… additional touches greatly appreciated.”

    Thank you for a wonderful stay in a beautiful house in the perfect location. The additional touches of a ‘Happy Birthday’ cake, bottle of prosecco, pretty blankets and a toy in the travel cot were greatly appreciated. We had a lovely family holiday, the first time as parents, grandparents and granddaughter, and found the house perfect to make the most of our time in York. We look forward to visiting again in the future.

     
    James Leftwich and Family, Sale, Manchester, UK — 20th March 2015
  • “Perfect location, central but quiet.”

    Just arrived – beautiful house. Perfect location, central but quiet. We had a lovely weekend. Definitely be back!

     
    Jenny, Sarah, Nicola, Bex, Boggi, Sue, and Dawn, Sale, Manchester, UK — 27th March 2015
  • ” … a delightful stay, one we will long remember.”

    Thank you so much for a delightful stay, one we will long remember. Your beautiful home in this amazing location offered our three generation family such a welcoming accommodation. Thank you!!

     
    Cahill Family, Minneapolis, USA — 31st March 2015
  • “….we did not want to leave.”

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful home with us. Amazing location, first time in York for the four of us and we did not want to leave. We will be back with our families. Thank you again.

     
    Laura, Sue, Natalie and Sarah, Liverpool, UK — 30th January 2015
  • “We will be back”.

    Thank you for a wonderful stay. Beautiful house, everything you could wish for and in a favorite location. We will be back.

     
    Pat, Jane and Claire, — 5th March 2015
  • “Had a lovely weekend catching up with friends”.

    Had a lovely weekend catching up with friends. Lovely apartment and super location. Thanks

     
    Alexander, — 1st March, 2015
  • “…Yorkshire teabags and games of Scrabble.”

    Thank you for your fabulous hospitality. The house is beautiful and the finishing touches were divine, from the Yorkshire teabags to the games of Scrabble in the cupboard. There were five of us staying and I am sure that we will be back in the near future. You should be very proud of your finished achievement.

     
    The Link Family, Liverpool, UK — 15th-18th February, 2015
  • “Annual Christmas Family Get-Together”.

    “Annual Christmas Family Get- Together”. The Larkins

    Thank you for a lovely welcoming stay. We all love the house, perfect location, and the little extras were lovely …. truly a beautiful home and one we would love to return [to]. Thank you so much we  can’t wait to return. P.S. if you are bringing more than one car use ‘Just Park’ website – we got a spot in the same place as this house [uses] for about £6 per day (Marygate).

     
    Larkin, Purcell, Sugars, Jeeves family, England — 3rd December 2014
  • “A fabulous few days to recharge the batteries’.

    A fabulous few days to recharge the batteries. Lots to do and see. Beautiful house though rather warm at night. Thanks Julie xxx

     
    Julie, — 30th November 2014
  • “…… the house was grand”.

    We have had a marvelous few days holiday –  6 girls together and we had a great catch up. The situation of the house was the best possible and made the time we spent here even better. York is definitely a place to come back to visit. Thanks for a lovely stay, the house was grand.

     
    Bridget, Gilly, Lou, Angela, Moira and Mala, — 28th November 2014
  • “It was absolutely perfect in every way”.

    Jane and Stephen,

    Thank you so much for such a fantastic stay – your house is beautiful and had everything we needed. And the location was perfect.

    This was a surprise weekend for me – (Mum). It was absolutely perfect in every way. Many thanks.

    P.S. You should be proud of your beautiful house.

     
    Nat, Anne & Co., Disley, Cheshire, UK — 23rd November 2014
  • “It was the perfect place for Daniel’s graduation”.

    Thank you for a wonderful stay in this beautiful house. We loved the views to the Minster. It was the perfect place for Daniel’s graduation. Please enjoy the little souvenir from Arizona.

     
    The Palms, Arizona, USA — 12th November 2014
  • ‘ ….. everything in the house is top quality’.

    Thank you for a lovely stay in your beautiful house. Fantastic location and everything in the house is top quality. We will hopefully be back next year.

     
    The Neal Family, Burton on Trent, England — 9th November 2014
  • ‘…. the perfect place to stay to enjoy York’.

    Dear Jane and Stephen,

    Thank you for our lovely stay in your very special house. The beds were so comfortable and all the fabric and equipment first class. It was especially lovely to be able to listen to the Minster bells in the evening. We hope to be back in the near future as it is the perfect place to stay to enjoy York.

     
    The Brisbane Family, Stirling, Scotland — 16th October, 2014
  • ‘ … it is truly stunning.’

    Thank you so much for letting us stay at your beautiful house, it is truly stunning. This is our first trip to York and we all really have had such a wonderful time. We will certainly be returning and telling all our family and friends about this little gem.

     
    The Howards, Hertfordshire, UK — September 2014
  • ‘- the house was perfect for exploring York and Yorkshire’

    Dear Jane and Stephen,

    Thank you for a wonderful stay – the house was perfect for exploring York and Yorkshire – day trips to Harrogate, Helmsley and the coast. We all slept well in the comfortable beds and enjoyed the church bells in the evening. We all had a lovely stay.

     

     
    The Keelers, Connecticut, USA — September 2014
  • “I was going to declare squatter’s rights…….”

    Dear Jane and Stephen,

    Thank you for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home. I was going to declare squatter’s rights but then remembered we had home to go to. I’m in a bit of a rush, we have packed so much in, there’s no time to sit and write. When I get the chance I will do a more detailed review on TripAdvisor but in the meantime we have had a great city holiday. P.S. Thank you for the wonderful welcome gifts, hubby loved Betty’s Tea Loaf.

     
    Jeff, Caroline, Anthony, Zara, Max and Sparky, UK — August 2014
  • “Unbelievable stay!”

    Unbelievable stay! This house is gorgeous and the location amazing! Thank you for everything.

     
    Ash and Katie, Orlando, Florida — August 2014
  • “I loved all the little touches and effort to ensure our stay was perfect!! “

    Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home. I loved all the little touches and effort to ensure our stay was perfect!! We all had a fab time & loved every minute of celebrating our 30th Birthdays. Thank you.

     
    Bev & the Welsh girls, Bangor, Wales — 29th June 2014
  • “Really gorgeous house…”

    Really gorgeous house, perfect for our group. Amazing location would definitely bring the family back here.

     
    Laura, Bangor, Wales — 29th June 2014
  • “Couldn’t have asked for a better place”

    Perfect location and a great house. Love the anti-slam feature in the drawers etc. Couldn’t have asked for a better place.

     
    Rupert and family, — 17th July 2014
  • “The house is beautiful and the location incredible”

    We had a wonderful stay. The house is beautiful and the location incredible. Thank you from…..

     
    Marta, Alex, Athena, Gillian, Elliot, Oliver and Hugo, London and Ohio — 9th July 2014
  • “We had a delightful few days.”

    Dear Jane and Stephen,
    Many thanks for sharing this little gem in the center of historic York. We had a delightful few days. From breakfast at Betty’s to evensong at the Minster, all totally charming.
    As for this wonderful house….everything was so tastefully thought of & specklessly clean. Will be recommending it if anyone is thinking of visiting this delightful city.
    P.S. Thanks for the cake, (it) went down a treat.

     
    The Kennedys, — June 2014
  • “A beautiful house…….”

    A beautiful house: a place of peace and serenity after the hustle and bustle of the city. A wonderful atmospheric experience.

     
    The Martin Family, England — May 2014
  • “We all had a fabulous time…..”

    We all had a fabulous time here for Ali’s 30th birthday – couldn’t have stayed anywhere better.

     
    Ali, Alyson, Lisa, Alyson, Louise, Margaret, Amanda and Jacqui, England — 15th June 2014
  • “Our visit was amazing!”

    Our visit was amazing! This location was the best of all worlds for our family. I was so happy that we found your flat [sic] for so many reasons. It was great to have our family experience life in a home that was 300 years old. My family has been listening to me talking about me growing up in a house in New England built in 1670. The history just out your front door what an experience! The weather couldn’t have been better and York is a great town. So we thank you for a perfect stay.

     
    The Merritt Family, USA — 24th June 2014
  • “York is lovely as is your beautiful home!”

    York is lovely as is your beautiful home! Thank you for sharing it with us. Our experience these few days exceeded our expectations and York has become one of our most favorite places to visit. See you again soon.

     
    The Panette Family, Seattle, USA — 24th June 2014
  • “Wow!”

    Wow! Race weekend and we managed to stay in your beautiful house with the perfect location and immaculate furnishings. It’s an awesome house, every detail has been thought about and to a high finish. The Cathedral bells as an alarm clock was very novel!
    Thanks for the ease of booking this fab house, the welcome pack and the welcome to the house presents which just finished our experience perfectly!
    Have no reservations recommending you guys and this property! Simply awesome! Thank you so much once again, we will be back.

     
    Jacqui S. & the Ladies, England — 13th June 2014
  • Charme and style next to York Minster!

     

    Out of five stars I would readily give five and a half to this fantastic place where we (my auntie and I) have spent a couple of wonderful days! We immediately felt at home… I particularly liked the stylish look with its charming mix of antique and modern elements, well chosen, original decoration and those warm and appeasing pastel colours… and the kitchen is almost better equipped than my own back home in France! The beds are so comfortable, we just slept heavenly well in them… but that’s not all: the location is simply perfect – very quiet, yet in the very heart of the city – the Minster, the Shambles, shops, museums, restaurants – everything is in walking distance…
    Speaking of restaurants: if I had to recommend two places, it would be the “Rustique” (28 Castelgate) – very nice French cuisine & friendly service – and for ice cream lovers “licc” (20 Back Swinegate) is a must!
    All in all a fantastic and unforgettable holiday experience, a big Merci, we’ll definitely be back and recommend you to friends and family!

     
    Insa L, St. Remy Bosc-Rocourt, France — 10th May, 2014
  • Beautiful property – a hidden gem in a great location

    I’m not often given to writing reviews of places I have stayed, but felt I just wanted to share with everyone what a fantastic property 2 Precentor’s Court is! It is a truly gorgeous, historic house in a quiet little street right next to York Minster.

    The property is beautifully decorated and oozes luxury and comfort – full of antiques, original art and lovely soft furnishings. The bedrooms are lovely, with views over the Minster and modern bathrooms have been imaginatively fitted into this characterful and historic house.

    We loved the keypad entry, small courtyard garden to relax after a full day’s shopping (!) and central, large kitchen diner for meeting up to plan the next day/evening. Free parking a short walk from the property was a real surprise in the centre of York, but being so central you can walk to all the main attractions and soak up the atmosphere.

    We enjoyed a walk through the Museum Gardens and along the river, and found some great restaurants literally just round the corner (we especially liked No 8 in Gillygate).

    All in all a great place to stay and a hidden gem. I had a great time with friends and will definitely return, hopefully for longer next time. Try a stay here you won’t be disappointed. The Boxing Hare team think of everything and make your stay most enjoyable.

     
    Alison R, Moniaive, UK — 24th April 2014
  • “Super convenient, super stylish – a perfect place to stay.”

    It’s the most beautifully decorated house right opposite York Minster, in the middle of the city. They’ve thought of everything – top of the range linen, quirky furniture & art work, groovy internet TV, very own parking space (up the road) etc. etc etc Can’t say enough good things about it – we had the best time.

     
    Claire B, Stamford, UK — 24th May, 2014
  • “Luxury and elegance in the centre of York”

     

    I booked this property as somewhere to meet up with friends for a short break in York. I was not disappointed.
    Firstly the location … it is superb! The property is down a quiet street of Georgian houses seemingly in touching distance of the Minster.
    It is in close walking distance of all the main sites, shops and restaurants.
    Directions provided by the owners were concise and accurate and we could drop luggage off at the front door. They then directed us to a parking area a short distance away. Getting a dedicated parking space in a city which is predominately pedestrianised and traffic free was a real bonus.
    The house has been beautifully restored. It retains a wealth of period features which are complemented by antique furniture & interesting artwork. It is charming and elegant and has non of the formality or regimentation of a hotel.
    The dining kitchen is fully equipped with state of the art appliances. The bedrooms are large & comfortable (with views of the Minster) & the bathrooms are modern & tasteful. There is even a laundry room in the cellar.
    To the rear is a courtyard where we sat for a drink after a busy day of sightseeing.
    The owners have gone to great lengths to make our stay as luxurious and stress free as possible. The comfortable beds have fine linens and the bathrooms plenty of towels and toiletries. There is lots of information on ‘what to do in York’ provided. There is even a keypad entry system so you don’t have to worry about carrying (or losing) keys.
    The house can sleep up to eight and offers excellent value compared to other city centre accommodation.
    If you want a charming elegant house in the centre of York which oozes history yet provides modern and efficient amenities for a luxury stress free stay I cannot recommend this property more highly.
    It is a real gem!
    Many thanks to all at Boxing Hare for making our stay so enjoyable and memorable
    We will certainly be staying at No. 2 Procentors Court the next time we visit York.

     
    Colin , Todmorden, UK — 17th April 2014